Languages of Love

September 4, 2015

Quality time with my loved ones feels so loving to me!

Click here to listen to the Prayer for Today-Communicating Love

Subscribe now to Podcast of Prayer for Today

One of the challenges I’ve faced is thinking that everyone is like me, so they think like me, they feel things the way I do, and they perceive things the way I do – it’s just not true! One of the best things for me about being a Spiritual Counselor all these years is that I’ve learned how different our perspectives and perceptions can be. It’s not very helpful for me to assume that others make the same interpretation I do when our history seems so different.

One thing that seems to have come up a lot during this Venus in Retrograde period we’re in right now is that many people are realizing that there’s a lot of healing we can have in our relationships. Yes! More Love can flow for all of us.

There’s a wonderful quiz you can take online – at no cost – on the 5 Love Languages – you may find that it’s extremely helpful in understanding some of your most basic relationship challenges. I encourage you to take the quiz, and to do it with a friend or loved one and then compare your results to learn even more!

The 5 Love Languages – according to this site: are:

Acts of Service
Physical Touch
Receiving Gifts
Quality Time
Words of Affirmation

I recently discovered that, for one of my loved ones, words of affirmation was top of the list. For me, it’s on the bottom of the list! We’re so different in our perspective and yet we truly wish to communicate Love to each other.

You can see how, if we have different Love languages that it can get confusing. Especially if we don’t even realize that we’re speaking “different” languages.

A Course in Miracles tells us “we’re never upset for the reason we think,” that’s lesson 5 in the workbook. I say, we’re always upset when we’re in judgment, thinking the meaning that we made, our unloving interpretation, is what’s real.

When we’re giving gifts, time and attention in order to get something back, then we’re in expectation and that’s not very loving.

If we need appreciation in order to feel good about giving something, that’s not unconditional giving, there’s a string attached. Many people don’t like to receive gifts with strings attached. Do you? I don’t. I’d rather take a pass and just have some loving time together.

We can use tools like the 5 Love Languages to help us eliminate misunderstandings. It can also be fun! And by the way, they have the 5 Forgiveness Languages too – worth checking out also!

Let’s eliminate the unloving behavior and dedicate ourselves to simply being loving, without attachment and giving from the overflow of Love in our heart!

We’re waking up together and I’m so grateful for that! If you’re finding what I’m sharing to be helpful won’t you please share at Facebook and twitter to let others know? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

  • Stop Playing Small Online Retreat

  • Related Posts:

    A World Without Punishment
    Inspired to Love!
    Developing Infinite Patience
    Answering the Call
    • Subscribe to the
      daily inspiration and
      Prayer for Today:

      I will never share your email.

  • Categories

  • Related Posts:

    A World Without Punishment
    Inspired to Love!
    Developing Infinite Patience
    View all posts